A day at the Iris Murdoch Archives

A day at the Iris Murdoch Archives

iris_murdochI spent the day at the Iris Murdoch Archives at Kingston University, going through some of the books she owned, reading marginalia, the Sartre notebook, and the Raymond Queneau letters (a very fun collection, half in French, half in English, playfully vast in topics of intellectual interest and emotional range too). What I primarily went to see, however, were her letters to Philippa Foot.

Edited on April 3, 2012

I shared some quotes from the letters here but I was later asked by the Archives to take them down as  they “breach copyright”.  Contact me privately should you wish to read them – they are fantastic. I find the request peculiar – especially the archivist’s “not a single sentence to be quoted” request — as various British media have already quoted extensively from many of these letters, but there you have it. I can only shrug my shoulders.

3 thoughts on “A day at the Iris Murdoch Archives

  1. I have been working with adults with learning disabilities intoducing them to Iris and her wonderful letters at the archive. I have learnt so much!

Leave a Reply

